2nd Annual Awards Breakfast

2nd Annual Awards Breakfast

Wednesday, June 4 from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM at The Hartford Club

The 2nd  Annual Awards Breakfast Program honored three representatives of our member institutions who exemplify the public purpose of colleges and universities by deepening their ability to implement all forms of public engagement, providing civic pathways to academic and career success, and nurturing a culture of engaged citizenship on campus and within communities.

Click here to watch the 2nd Annual Awards Breakfast event.

Each award winner received a short video, sponsored by Fairfield University, which captures the essence of why they were selected for the award (click the award title to view the video).

The Faculty Engaged Scholarship Award went to Dr. Jen Klug who has been a member of Fairfield University’s faculty since 2001 in the Biology department. In 2006, Friends of the Lake (FOTL), a non-profit organization dedicated to improving the water quality of Lake Lillinonah, asked for her assistance in addressing algae growth. The sensors on the dock monitoring program monitor lake conditions every 15 minutes, getting readings on algae levels, water temperature, dissolved materials, and pH levels. It measures water temperature at 15 different points to understand the entire water column. Dr. Klug worked with FOTL to develop a citizen-science driven dock monitoring program, which has been a major focus into her teaching and student research mentorship.

The Campus-Community Partnership Award went to Norwalk Community College (NCC) and Family & Children’s Agency for a program called ASPire!, which provides an after-school program for middle school children and FCA reciprocates with an embedded Mental Health professional to serve NCC students. ASPire! is an innovative and long-standing partnership between NCC and the FCA, one of the largest human service agencies in Fairfield County. By locating the program on NCC’s campus, NCC students have the opportunity to act as tutors and role models for diverse youth through service learning, work study, and student labor.

The Presidents’ Choice Award was given to James Barber, Director of the Office of Community Engagement at Southern Connecticut State University (SCSU) and has been on staff since 1989. From 1989 to 2013, Barber oversaw 11 programs that enhance educational opportunities for youth. Over 30 years ago, Barber founded The New Haven Age Group Track Club, a program that has drawn over 5,000 youth from the community to SCSU’s campus.

To view a full press release from the 2nd Annual Awards Breakfast, click here.

To view more photos, please click here to visit the event’s Facebook album

Special thanks to Fairfield University and SimplexGrinnell for sponsoring the event.



Comments are closed.