News and notes from the Communication program @ Fairfield

Archive for May, 2014

Congratulations to our 2014 Communication Graduates!

On Sunday, March 18th Fairfield University held its 64th Commencement exercises.  Over 100 undergraduate Communication majors and 12 Masters students received their degrees in separate ceremonies held under gloriously sunny skies.  Congratulations to our graduate and undergraduate students, please stay in touch!10344351_10152088989900913_838559128122903038_o 10368899_10152088991125913_2110146424882092910_o

Bookmark and Share

Congratulations to the Lambda Pi Eta 2014 inductees

On Saturday, March 17th the Department of Communication inducted over 20 students into the national communication undergraduate honors society – Lambda Pi Eta.  The ceremony was a beautiful one and fittingly included remarks from our colleague Dr. Robbin Crabtree, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, who will be leaving Fairfield this summer.  Congratulations to all the LPE inductees.1907987_10152088994285913_6724469438238799508_n

Bookmark and Share

Farewell Dean Crabtree

Dean Robbin Crabtree, a Professor of Communication and former Chair of the Department of Communication, will be leaving Fairfield for our sister school, LMU in Los Angeles this summer.  It is difficult to say goodbye to sic a wonderful colleague.  Below the Communication Faculty (and special guest star Dr. David Sapp) are toasting farewell to our colleague Dr. Crabtree.  Dr. Crabtree was a favorite teacher when she was serving as chair of the Department and served for six years as the chair of what is now the largest major in the College.  She presided over a period of growth for the major, the hires of several new faculty and the development of graduate program in Communication.  Good luck Dr. Crabtree from all of us in the Department of Communication!


Bookmark and Share

Congratulations Kaitlyn Banazynski

Senior Communication Major Kaitlyn Banazynski was named the Outstanding Achievement in Communication Award Winner and is pictured here receiving her award with Departmental Chair Dr. David Gudelunas.  Congratulations!042814_CAS_Awards_77

Bookmark and Share