College of Arts and Sciences celebrates student scholars

Submitted by Carolyn Arnold on May 23, 2012

By Meredith Guinness

In a tradition that dates back more than 30 years, Fairfield University recently recognized some of its top scholars at the Art and Sciences Awards Ceremony. Dozens of students won awards for exemplary work in their chosen disciplines and as leaders and role models among their peers.

Family and friends, University administrators, deans, and faculty joined in the celebration, an end-of-the-year highlight, said Robbin Crabtree, Ph.D., dean, College of Arts and Science. “At this time every year, we have the opportunity to recognize the most talented among our fine students,” she said. “It is awe-inspiring to hear about their accomplishments as faculty present their program awards. I also find it fascinating to see how our students model the integrative education that is a signature of Fairfield University — their combinations of majors and minors, their internships and study abroad experiences, their research with faculty — all the myriad combinations of endeavors that students have used to design a truly unique four-year experience that matches their specific interests and passions.”

One of the top awards of the evening was the Lieutenant William Koscher Award in Arts, which is given to the student majoring in the social sciences, humanities or arts with the highest grade point average over four years. This year’s recipient was Nicole M. Laskowski ’12, of Stratford, Conn.

The College of Arts and Sciences Award in Science, given to the student majoring in the natural sciences or mathematics with the highest grade point average, went to Jaclyn R. Scifo ’12, of Saddle River, N.J.

The Award for Distinguished Work in the Humanities, which recognizes a student for a particularly outstanding project, went to Jon A. Lisi ’12, of Stratford, Conn.

John M. Cipriano ’12, of Southbury, Conn., won the Award for Distinguished Work in the Natural Sciences and Mathematics, given for an exceptional research project.

The Award for Distinguished Work in the Social and Behavioral Sciences for a substantial research project went to Nicole M. Laskowski ’12, of Stratford, Conn.; Christie L. Fogelstrom ’12 of Newtown Conn.; Chelsea L. Pabon ’12, of New Haven, Conn.; and Anthony R. Corso ’12, of Haworth, N.J.

A large group also won the Award for Distinguished Work in the Visual and Expressive Arts: Casey L. Grambo ’12, of Goshen, Conn.; Bradley C. Fay ’12, of Chatham, N.Y.; Michael G. Maio ’13, of Seekonk, Mass.; Joseph A. Plouffe ’13, of Brockton, Mass.; Nancy A. Laskowski ’12, of Stratford, Conn.; Thomas A. Saporito ’12, of Larchmont, N.Y.: Kelan S. McDonnell ’15, of Winfield, Ill.; Pamela C. Perrimon ’12, of Arlington, Mass.; John J. DePrado ’12, of Newburgh, N.Y.; Emily E. Skudrzyk ’14, of Fairfield, Conn.; Jacob L. Perriello ’13, of Weymouth, Mass.; Ashley E. Ruggiero ’14, of Port Jefferson, N.Y; and Grace A. Janiszewski ’14, of Schenectady, N.Y.

Several students won departmental honors. The College also recognized this year’s three Fulbright Scholars and new members of Phi Beta Kappa. The nation’s oldest academic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa recognizes academic excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.

Tiny URL for this post: